Ideas for new Hiking/Backpacking gear

Hi guys,
I am a Product Design student and I am doing a project on Hiking/Backpacking. I have not yet gone backpacking myself but after researching the topic, I have gotten very interested in the area and can’t wait to try it myself.
I would be grateful if anyone could share any ideas that they have for new products or improvements to old products. Just anything from the experience of being on the trail that would improve your journey?
Thanks

This may not be the type of product you are imagining but…one thing I would love to see is a practical dress like Anish wears (http://blog.gossamergear.com/brand-ambassador-gear-list-heather-anish-anderson) but with full coverage on the shoulders and upper arms, and with pockets. Sustainable Merino wool material (look at Icebreaker’s Cool-Lite products) - it would probably need some reinforcement where the backpack straps rub against the fabric. The goal would be comfort, breath-ability, quick drying, with some durability to survive a through-hike. Thanks for asking!

Trying to intelligently design backpack gear without having ever backpacked is like trying to be a first base coach without having played baseball. No offense intended. I salute and encourage your new interest. But the best thing you can do is get out there yourself. Make mistakes, see first hand what kind of shortcomings current gear might have. Then you’ll have some knowledge with which to judge your own ideas and others suggestions. And you’ll have some great times outdoors. Good luck!

1 Like

I think this is a bit unhelpful to the question posed. Obviously it would be ideal if the OP had backpacked before, but the professor has assigned a project with a deadline. The OP very likely doesn’t have the luxury to go backpacking several times beforing turning in the assignment.

Now to the original: Are you thinking more along the lines of a technical/engineering improvement or purely design?