What should I get for hiking?

Hey everyone, guys I am new to hiking, so If anybody have any advise about equipment i would appreciate that!

1 Like

Hi! Amber,
This is such a wide field and I’m sure you will get many replies. Your best bet would start doing some research online with various supply companies, like The North Face, Big Agnes, Sea to Summit, Osprey, Kelty, etc., etc.
Or check out some of the equipment list from other hikers and see if you can find some reviews.
You probably know, the Lighter the Better, since you’ll be carrying this stuff on your back.
I just recently replaced a 3 lb. sleeping bag for a 1 lb. 13 oz. They both have a temperature rating of 35 degrees F. I also swapped out a Big Agnes sleeping pad which weighed 1 lb. 5 oz. for a Therm-a-rest pad that weighs 12 oz.
You can always go to an outfitter and try on different equipment, most sales staff love to talk about their gear.
You may also find an outfitter that will rent equipment, that way you can try it out before investing a lot on money in stuff that doesn’t meet your satisfaction.
I hope some of this advise helps you in your equipment search. If there is anything that you need more specific information on, I’ll be glad to help out with that, if you reply before tomorrow May 20th, I’m leaving on a 2 month trip. Take care and enjoy your research, and I hope you have some awesome backpacking trips.
HAPPY TRAILS!!

Good morning Amber. I guess first question is what type of hiking are you wanting to get into ? Day hikes, short over night trips or your first Thru hike ?? I would say the first most important thing will be what you put on your feet. Get good socks and good shoes.

Toasted Toad :frog::frog:

Thank you for such a generous advise!

Thanks, yes, for my first hike!